Australian bean to bar producers

Last updated 29/03/2021

While we love showcasing the world’s best chocolates made from the bean to the bar, we are also committed to supporting our local, bean-to-bar Australian chocolate makers. We are delighted to be part of the vibrant, friendly and exciting craft chocolate scene in Australia. Here is the list of all the Australian chocolate makers.

Company Location Website
17 Rocks Brisbane, QLD www.17rocks.com.au
Alouss Chocolate Sydney, NSW www.alouss.com
Atypic Chocolate Melbourne, VIC www.atypic-chocolate.com.au
Bahen & Co Margaret River, WA www.bahenchocolate.com
Bird Snake Melbourne, VIC www.birdsnake.com.au
Cabosse & Feve Chocolates Castlemaine, VIC www.cabosseandfeve.com.au
Cailo Chocolate Perth, WA www.cailochocolate.com
Charley’s Chocolate Factory Mission Beach, QLD www.charleys.com.au
Chocolate DR Coffs Harbour, NSW www.chocolate-dr.square.site/
Cicada Artisan Chocolate Sydney, NSW www.cicadachocolate.com
Cravve Burleigh Heads, QLD www.cravve.com.au
Cuvée Chocolate Carrum Downs, VIC www.cuveechocolate.com.au
Daintree Estates Daintree, QLD www.daintreeestates.com
Dark & Handsome Chocolatier Melbourne, VIC www.darkandhandsome.com.au
Federation Chocolate Taranna, TAS www.federationchocolate.com
Gabriel Chocolate Yallingup, WA www.gabrielchocolate.com.au
Good Boy Chocolates Melbourne, VIC www.goodboychocolate.sqaure.site
Haigh’s Chocolates Adelaide, SA www.haighschocolates.com.au
Hunted & Gathered Melbourne, VIC www.huntedandgathered.com.au
Hyggelig Sydney, NSW www.hyggelig.com.au
Jasper & Myrtle Canberra, ACT www.jasperandmyrtle.com.au
Living Koko Melbourne, VIC www.LivingKoko.com
Loving Earth Melbourne, VIC www.lovingearth.net
Metiisto Toowoomba, QLD www.metiistochocolate.com
Monsieur Truffe Melbourne, VIC www.monsieurtruffechocolate.com
Mork (Hot chocolate) Melbourne, VIC www.morkchocolate.com.au
Origin Chocolate Orange, NSW www.originchocolate.com.au
Pain et Chocolat Trentham, VIC www.atelierchocolat.com.au
Ratio Cocoa Roasters Melbourne, VIC www.ratiococoa.com.au
Smooth Chocolator Geelong, VIC www.smoothchoc.com
South Pacific Cacao Haberfield, NSW www.southpacificcacao.com
Spencer Cocoa Mudgee, NSW www.spencercocoa.com.au
Two Lost Pilots Perth, WA www.twolostpilots.com.au
Wild Craft Tasmania Nubeena, TAS www.wildcrafttasmania.com
Zokoko Emu Plains, NSW www.zokoko.com

So no matter where you are in Australia, chances are there is a bean-to-bar chocolate producer nearby who would love your support! Visit their websites, pop in to their shops and cafes, or say hi on social media – they are all really interesting people and we’re sure they’d love to hear from you.

It’s wonderful that more keep popping up every day. If you know of an Australian bean-to-bar producer that isn’t in the list please get in touch and we’ll add them!

Closed Companies Location Website
Abobo Kitchen Sunbury, VIC www.adobokitchen.com
Bright Chocolate Bright, VIC www.brightchocolate.com.au
Chokamour Melbourne, VIC www.chokamour.com.au
Curio Bellingen, NSW www.curiochocolate.com.au
Matale Chocolate Melbourne, VIC www.instagram.com/matalechocolate/
Maius Chocolate Adelaide, SA www.maiuschocolate.com.au
Nick’s Chocolate Brisbane, QLD www.nickschocolate.com.au
Pure Mill Chocolate Sunshine Coast, QLD www.puremillchocolate.com

Why care if someone makes their own chocolate?

Chocolate making is very similar to roasting coffee. Beans are sourced (the better the beans the better the product) then experimented with (roasted, ground, mixed) then finally formed into a creation that requires skill to perfect and make consistently great. On top of that, the artistry required to make chocolate is much like that required to make a great craft beer (there’s science, but also a creativity, to make something of beauty – there’s often a sense of personality that manages to flow throughout the brand and work its way into the flavour).

Contrast this with people who “hand-make” chocolate bars by melting chocolate made by one of the 5 “big chocolate” companies that make the majority of the world’s chocolate. They are almost certainly made with “commodity cacao” and the main flavour driver is how much sugar / milk is added i.e. sweet vs bitter or what flavour is added to make it different. Chocolate makers (i.e. people who roast and grind their own beans) work with the flavours that exist within the cacao and play with the roasting profile and grinding parameters to highlight the flavours they want in their bar.

Is Australian chocolate any good?

We are delighted to tell you that Australia makes some really amazing chocolate. There are a few Australian chocolate makers who are famous overseas and relatively unknown in Australia! Australian’s have won a multitude of chocolate awards on the world stage (mainly the Academy of Chocolate Awards London or the International Chocolate Awards) e.g. Jasper & Myrtle who have over 13 international awards, Zokoko with 8 international awards including “Best Dark Chocolate Bar at the 2014 International Chocolate Salon” and Metiisto with 5 since opening in 2018 including the 2019 “International Rising Star Trophy”. If that’s not enough look up the #SmoothChocolator and you’ll discover posts from all over the world. Some chocolate makers just aren’t into awards so don’t rule out trying a bar that hasn’t won an award – there are some truly amazing chocolates that have never been submitted to these kinds of competitions. Our advice is try as many bars as you can and find your favourites!